World Health Organisation: WHO

WHO Flag

It was established on 7 April 1948, and is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland. The WHO is a member of the United Nations Development Group. Its predecessor, the Health Organisation, was an agency of the League of Nations. The WHO is responsible for the World Health Report, the worldwide World Health Survey, and World Health Day. The WHO’s south-east Asia region covers Bangladesh, Bhutan, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, India, Indonesia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Timor-Leste.

WHO ensures the safety of the air people breathe, the food they eat, the water they drink and the medicines and vaccines they need.


To improve equity in health, reduce health risks, promote healthy lifestyles and settings, and respond to the underlying determinants of health.


To develop and implement multisectoral public policies for health, integrated gender- and age-sensitive approaches that facilitate community empowerment together with action for health promotion, self-care and health protection throughout the life course in cooperation with the relevant national and international partners.

Note: In the ongoing WHO’s South-East Asia regional meeting, Indian member Dr. Poonam Khetrapal was unanimously re-elected as Regional director. She has already served as the regional director for south-east Asia since 2014. She is the first Indian National and the first woman to hold this post.

Related and Sponsored Posts

Leave a Comment