United Nations Educational, Scientific And Cultural Organization: UNESCO

United Nations Educational, Scientific And Cultural Organization: UNESCO

Basic Information

1. A member of the United Nations Development Group
2. Headquarter : Paris
3. Successor of the League of Nations’ International Committee on Intellectual Cooperation.
4. Aim : to contribute to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information
5. Members 195 member states and ten associate members.
6. The United States and Israel left UNESCO on 31 December 2018.

UNESCO pursues its objectives through five major programs:

1. Education
2. Natural sciences
3. Social/human sciences
4. Culture
5. Communication/information

Governance structure

1. Executive Board (EXB) —58 members elected by the General Conference for four-year term
2. Examines work for UNESCO and the corresponding budget estimates
3. It is main organ responsible for all policies and programmes of UNESCO.
4. General conference
5. All members meet every 2 years
6. Vote on policies, programs, budget
7. Elect executive board, DG every 4 year


1. UNESCO’s Creative Cities Network — 2004
2. To foster international cooperation with and between cities committed to investing in creativity as a driver for sustainable urban development, social inclusion and cultural vibrancy. It includes cities within its seven creative fields (Crafts and Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts and Music).
3. India — Varanasi (added as City of Music), Jaipur (City of Crafts and Folk Art) and Chennai

World Heritage Cities Programme

1. To assist state parties in the challenges of protecting and managing their urban heritage sites.
2. India — Allahabad

Note: List of World Heritage in danger — drawing world’s attention to the prevailing situation.

Related and Sponsored Posts

Leave a Comment