Jnanpith Award

Jnanpith Award:

1. It is India’s highest literary honor. Its name has been taken from Sanskrit words Jnana and Pitha which means knowledge-seat.

2. It is bestowed upon any Indian citizen who writes in any 22 official languages of India mentioned in VIII Schedule of Constitution of India and English. Award was instituted in 1961 and is awarded by Bharatiya Jnanpith.

Saraswati Samman:

1. It is an annual award bestowed upon Indian citizen for his outstanding literary work written in any 22 Indian language mentioned in Schedule VIII of Constitution and published during last 10 years.

2. It is named after an Indian goddess of learning and is considered to be among the highest literary awards in India.

3. It was instituted in 1991 by the K. K. Birla Foundation. It consists of Rs. 15 lakh, a citation and a plaque.

4. Candidates are selected from literary works published in the previous ten years by a panel that included scholars and former award winners.

The Tagore Award:

1. It is an award given in commemoration of the 150th birth anniversary of the Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941) for cultural harmony.

2. Established in 2011 by Government of India, it is given for outstanding achievement in fostering harmony and universalism and values of cultural harmony especially in conflict or extreme situations through innovative systems/ strategies and which have an enduring and transformational impact.

3. This award carries an amount of Rupees One Crore, a Citation in a Scroll, a Plaque as well as an exquisite traditional handicraft/handloom item.

Vyas Samman:

1. The Vyas Samman award was instituted by the K.K. Birla Foundation in 1991. It is awarded annually to outstanding literary work in Hindi authored and published in past 10 years by an Indian citizen.