Current Affairs for OAS Prelims 2020: Awards & Honours

January 2020

  • Dubai-based Indian girl Sucheta Satish has won the 100 Global Child Prodigy Award for singing in most languages during one concert and the longest live singing concert by a child.
  • Aayushi Dholakia has bagged the title of Miss Teen International 2019. She also won the title of Best in National Costume Award and Best in Speech Award.
  • Jasbinder Bilan has won the UK based Costa Children’s Award 2019 for her debut novel ‘Asha and the Spirit Bird’.
  • Famous Agricultural Scientist Dr M S Swaminathan was honoured as the first recipients ‘Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu National Award for Excellence’ for his distinguished contribution to the field of agriculture.
  • A 10-year-old British Indian yoga boy Ishwar Sharma wins Global Child Prodigy Award.
  • Puri, Odisha has been awarded for its initiatives for plastic waste management with the Swachhata Darpan Awards 2019.
  • A senior scientist Sakya Singha Sen from National Chemical Laboratory (CSIR-NCL) Pune, has been awarded “Merck Young Scientist Award 2019” for doing remarkable research in chemical science.
  • 18th Dhaka International Film Festival (DIFF): ‘Castle of Dreams’ directed by Reza Mirakarimi won the Best Film Award in Asian Competition section, Indian film ‘Finally Love’ directed by Anjan Dutt bagged Best Audience Award in Cinema of the World Category; Sri Lankan director Prasanna Vithanage’s film ‘Children of the Sun’ won Special Jury Award.
  • Health Set Go CEO Priya Prakash wins Global Citizen Prize: Cisco Youth Leadership Award 2019 for her school health program that provides healthcare support to children.
  • The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind presented the 14th Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards in New Delhi, to honour journalists across the country from print, broadcast and digital media.
  • Uttarakhand, Disaster Mitigation and Management Centre (in the institution category) and Kumar Munnan Singh (individual category) have been selected for the Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar 2020.
  • Dr N Kumar, Vice-Chancellor of Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, has been conferred ‘Harit Ratna Award 2019’.
  • Nobel laureate Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee conferred the honorary Doctor of Letters (D.Litt.) by Calcutta University at its annual convocation in Kolkata.
  • Sanjana Kapoor received the prestigious French honour of ‘Chevalier dans lOrdre des Arts et des Lettres (Knight of the Order of Arts and Letters) for her outstanding contribution to the field of theatre.
  • Piyuus Jaiswal was awarded the Global Bihar Excellence Award 2019.

Related and Sponsored Posts